Drew Estate announces Herrera Estelí Inktome for Small Batch Cigars

2016-06-18 15_52_35-Drew Estate announces Herrera Estelí Inktome for Small Batch Cigars

 

Drew Estate announced today that they would be releasing a new blend within their Herrera Estelí line. The new cigar will be available exclusively for Small Batch Cigar, also known as Maxamar Ultimate Cigars.

 

The new Herrera Estelí Inktome will be presented in a 6 x 46 box-pressed Corona Gorda vitola and will be packaged in 10-count boxes. The blend showcases extensively aged tobaccos from the Estelí and Jalapa growing regions of Nicaragua, with a spicy Honduran Binder and a higher priming Ecuadorian Habano Wrapper than the core Herrera Estelí line. The result is a darker, richer wrapper. The MSRP will be $12.00, and the cigars will be released at tonight’s event at Maxamar Ultimate Cigars with Willy Herrera present.

 

When asked about the new cigar, Drew Estate Master Blender Willy Herrera stated that, “I like to read cigar forums and blogs for inspiration on new sizes. Adjusting blends based on new sizes is something that I enjoy doing at the factory because it challenges my palette to keep the blends balanced and aligned within the portfolio. I was reading on Reddit that consumers wanted to see a Herrera Estelí in a Norteño format. Something that was simple, yet different.”

 

FacebookTwitterGoogle+LinkedInWhatsAppShare

Review: CORNELIUS & ANTHONY Cornelius

2016-06-18 15_18_08-Cornelius & Anthony

Stick Review Rating: 96

“Smooth, pepper and a little spice. Construction and ash are amazing”

Size: 6 x 50
Body: Medium/Full
Price: $13-$15
Wrapper: Ecuadorian
Binder: Ecuadorian Habano
Filler: Nicaraguan
Number Smoked for Review: 2

2016-06-18 15_31_30-Edit Post ‹ Stick Review - For This Generations Younger Cigar Enthusiasts — Word

Cornelius is the first brand to be commercially launched by Cornelius & Anthony, and is owned by Stephen Bailey, a fifth-generation progeny of the Bailey family which has grown tobacco in Virginia for the last 150 years. (via www.cigaraficionado.com)

Thoughts and Notes:

This cigar was amazing, when the small package from CORNELIUS & ANTHONY arrived, I was not sure what to expect.  I have not been doing as many reviews as I used to, but the last 5-6 cigars I received to review from other vendors so far have not been that great, but I had heard good things about the Cornelius so  when I finally got to toast my first one, I was not disappointed.

 

I am trying to make my reviews mixed now, I’ve been told the video ones are a bit too long and I don’t want to bore you, so my written reviews will be formatted like this one.  Info at the top, a few pics, my rating and my thoughts.  Quick and easy to read. In this “Instagram/Facebook/Twitter” world, I feel like the older style of review is getting dated.  When I am enjoying a smoke, I interact with my followers during the actual experience, which is awesome, but I also want to get back to posting those thoughts and images here again!

 

As soon as I sparked this up, I had notes of pepper and a little spice on my lip. Loved it. It burned clean and smooth.  Construction was solid and the ash held on like a beast (as you will see below). The longer I smoked it, the more I enjoyed it. At around the 30 minute point I was getting notes of cocoa and a sweet candy like flavor, maybe like a red hot candy, it was great and lasted for about 10 minutes. What I really enjoyed about the Cornelius was that that it got better and better as I smoked it.

 

As I hit the one hour mark, the burn line was still razor sharp and the ash was still solid as a rock, the last 20 mins were filled with spice, pepper and more. It was a great cigar. It’s a little on the higher end at $13-$15 a stick,  but I have never had a problem paying for quality and this one is pure quality.

 

Those who follow me on Instagram and I hear all the time “You only smoke the good s–t” and my answer is always the same, “I only have 1-2 hours every few days to just escape and enjoy a good cigar, usually at 1am alone on my deck – I need to make that count”

 

This one counts! This will now be in my rotation, I loved it, and it earned a  Stick Review Rating of 96 (Excellent)

 

2016-06-18 15_12_25-StickReview.com (@stickreview) • Instagram photos and videos

Click Here to Follow Mark on Instagram!

GURKHA CIGARS EXPANDS GLOBALLY SETTING NEW STANDARD IN LUXURY

Once again, Gurkha Cigar raises the bar in the super premium luxury cigar market by opening the first ultra-exclusive cigar lounge in India.

 

The elegant Cigar Lounge at Artisan opened to stellar reviews inside the stylish Hotel Sofitel Mumbai BKC in the heart of Mumbai’s financial business district’s Bandra Kurla complex. The grand opening was hosted by Anish Trivedi, a prominent Indian radio and theatre personality as well as a cigar enthusiast himself in conjunction with Biswajit Chakraborty, general manager of Hotel Sofitel Mumbai BKC, and Danny Carroll, Brand Ambassador India for Gurkha Cigars. More than 300 guests that included heads of diplomatic missions, private equity fund managers and famous Mumbai personalities were treated to some of the finest Gurkha cigars in the world along with complementary glasses of Single Malt Scotch.

 

According to Kaizad Hansotia, Founder and CEO of Gurkha Cigars, “We have considered opening an ultra-luxurious Cigar Lounge for quite some time now. When we were approached by the Sofitel Hotel in Mumbai all the pieces fell into place. There are many high net worth individuals in India who know and seek out a great cigar smoking experience. We have been seeing sales of our super-premium cigars rise steadily in the Asian and Indian markets over the past few years so it just made sense to expand that experience by opening a Cigar Lounge where cigar aficionados can enjoy a more comprehensively elegant cigar smoking experience.”

 

“The Hotel Sofitel Mumbai BKC is a hub for unique luxury experiences. In keeping with that theme, it was the ideal choice for the Cigar Lounge at Artisan to open, allowing for the discerning customer to unwind with internationally acclaimed cigars in a sophisticated environment,” said Chakraborty. “Being a cigar aficionado myself, it is my privilege to bring a luxurious lounge for all cigar enthusiasts in the city” boasts Biswajit.

 

“We created the perfect environment for enjoying the world’s finest cigars,” said Hansotia. “Whether you prefer to be surrounded by a handsome interior design or you prefer the lush beauty of a garden, the Cigar Lounge at Artisan has you covered. It’s a truly unique amenity and the first in all of India in which to enjoy the Gurkha Cigar experience.”

 

To help make the launch a unique and special event, Gurkha displayed a box of His Majesty’s Reserve cigars.  These are rare and special cigars that are famous not only for their exquisite taste, but as the world’s most expensive cigars! The HMR blend is comprised of a 15-year Connecticut Maduro wrapper with a 12-year Dominican binder and filler that’s aged with one bottle of the world’s finest cognac. The cigars are infused with a vintage Louis XIII Cognac that can cost from $1,500 to $40,000 a bottle, and a full bottle is used in a box of 20 cigars.  The cigar is then placed in a glass tube. A drop of Louis XIII Cognac is put inside the tube and it is then sealed with a green wax seal. No humidor is required for these cigars. They stay fresh inside the wax sealed tube. Only 75 boxes are made a year and they retail for $35,000.00 a box. The amazing aroma as well as the taste of the cigar will be something that you will never forget.

 

To add to the exclusive experience of enjoying the world’s finest cigars in Mumbai, the Hotel Sofitel has also created a private members-only club for cigar aficionados that allows you to keep your own bottle of Single Malt Scotch in the cigar lounge. Guests are encouraged to bring prospective clients to the cigar lounge and share their own bottle of Single Malt accompanied by your Gurkha Cigar.

 

Gurkha Cigars are known throughout the world as the Rolls Royce of cigars, so it’s no surprise that they are the most sought-after cigars in this new market. Gurkha produces eight million cigars per year that are sold in more than 58 countries worldwide. And while Gurkha is known for its exclusivity, it has an impressive array of 105 brands of flawlessly handcrafted, premium cigars created in a variety of strengths, tasting profiles, and price-points. No matter what your taste, there’s a Gurkha cigar that’s perfect for your palate. For additional information, visit www.gurkhacigars.com.

Oliva Cigars Newest Product releases as a Famous Smoke Shop Exclusive – Baptiste by Oliva

2016-06-18 15_57_04-Oliva Cigars Newest Product releases as a Famous Smoke Shop Exclusive - Baptiste

Famous Smoke Shop, the leading online distributor of discounted premium cigars, specializing in offering the web’s widest selection of cigars at the lowest prices, has just added a new, affordably-priced line to its stable of Oliva cigars. Named “Baptiste by Oliva,” the line features a full-bodied blend of diverse Nicaraguan long-fillers rolled in a flawless Ecuadorian-grown Habano wrapper leaf.

The Baptiste line is presented in the following four shapes in boxes of 20 cigars:

Presidente (7″ x 52) MSRP- $5.81/cigar

Grand Robusto (6″ x 60) MSRP – $6.15/cigar

Toro (5½”x 54) MSRP – $5.63/cigar

Torpedo (5½” x 54) MSRP – $5.81/cigar

The name was reportedly inspired by the character, “Andre Baptiste,” the ruthless Liberian dictator played by Eamonn Walker in the 2005 film, Lord of War, starring Nicholas Cage, which may account for the knife-shaped “t” in Baptiste as seen on the label.

However, as Famous Smoke Shop Brand Manager, Tarah Sutter, points out: “The smoke may be ‘decadent,’ but it’s not wicked like the Baptiste character in the movie; although you could say that it’s ‘wicked-good.'”

Baptiste offers a well-balanced, full-flavored smoke imbued with an earthy-spicy character that reveals notes of cedar, black coffee, and a hint of pepper on the finish.

“Those who enjoy smoking cigars like the Oliva Serie O, Oliva Serie V, and Vindicator by Oliva will find the new Baptiste by Oliva cigars especially satisfying, as well as cigar smokers who are typically drawn to the best full-bodied Nicaraguan cigars,” added Ms. Sutter.

2016-06-18 15_57_34-Oliva Cigars Newest Product releases as a Famous Smoke Shop Exclusive - Baptiste

Drew Estate Announces New Herrera Estelí TAA Exclusive Vitola

Wednesday, March 2, 2016 — Miami, FL – Today, Drew Estate announced a new line extension within their Herrera Estelí line. This new cigar, called the Herrera Estelí TAA Exclusive, will be launched at the TAA Convention and Tradeshow, held March 6 – 10, 2016 in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico, and will begin shipping to TAA members in April 2016.

The new Herrera Estelí TAA Exclusive is a 6×52 vitola, packaged in 12-ct boxes, and will retail for $144.00 per box or $12.00 per cigar. The blend features a Connecticut Broadleaf wrapper, Brazilian Mata Fina binder, and Nicaraguan fillers and is blended by Drew Estate Master Blender Willy Herrera.

When asked about the new blend, Willy Herrera stated, “This is my first blend since joining Drew Estate that utilizes Connecticut Broadleaf tobacco. Drew Estate fans know that we’re famous for our use of Connecticut Broadleaf tobaccos, especially in our Liga Privada No. 9 and Nica Rustica lines. I’ve been experimenting with blends that incorporate this incredible wrapper since coming on board and finally have a blend I’m really excited about. I think anyone who’s a fan of my blends will definitely appreciate this cigar. Spicy, meaty, and rich – get ready!”

For a chance to try a box of the new Herrera Estelí TAA Exclusive before they hit store shelves, enter the sweepstakes at http://drewestate.com/herrerataa.

2016-03-06 22_43_12-Herrera-Esteli_6x52_TAA_Box_Open_01.jpg (2400×2305)

NEW JOYA RED HALF CORONA AVAILABLE IN THE US

Joya de Nicaragua has announced that the Joya Red Half Corona (3¾ x 46) is now available for sale in the U.S. Joya de Nicaragua introduced this new vitola to the Joya Red cigar line last September during the Inter-Tabac trade show held in Dortmund, Germany. It had only been available in the European market until now.

The Joya Red Half Corona is designed to satisfy the contemporary smoker’s desire for a quick, but extremely pleasurable smoke. Joya maintained the same lower priming Nicaraguan tobacco blend as the rest of the Joya Red line. This new vitola comes in boxes of 20 cigars and 5 count “petacas”.

Joya Red is a medium strength smoke packed with flavor, outstanding construction and sharp burn. The brand was originally released in July 2014 as an invitation to rediscover Joya’s modern and fun side (#REDiscoverJoya) from the hands of its young executive team. It has quickly gained popularity with contemporary consumers, making it Joya de Nicaragua’s second best selling brand in the US market in only a year and a half.

Joya-RED-5ct-Box