Drew Estate debuts Pappy Van Winkle “TRADITION” for Drew Diplomat Retailers

 
Drew Estate announces the formal release of Pappy Van Winkle “TRADITION”. This extremely limited supply brand will be displayed in Drew Estate’s booth (Booth #2608) at the IPCPR Convention and Tradeshow, held July 10-14, 2017 in Las Vegas, Nevada. The Pappy Van Winkle Tradition will be exclusively available for sale through Drew Diplomat Retailers.

From Kentucky, Julian Van Winkle President of Old Rip Van Winkle Distillery, “I was invited to Cigar Aficionado’s A Night to Remember by Jonathan Drew in 2016 and was presented with a non-banded, wooden box of cigars with white bands on it that just read “Exclusively for my Friend Julian by Willy Herrera Sincerely Jonathan Drew”.  I loved this blend because of its balance, shortly thereafter, my family and I visited La Gran Fabrica Drew Estate in Nicaragua and I smoked the same blend most of the trip. By the end, I knew this would be the Pappy Van Winkle Tradition.”

Drew Estate is honored to represent the Van Winkle Family with an ultra-premium cigar that reinforces the legacy for one of America’s true living icons, Julian Van Winkle. The Pappy Van Winkle Tradition features an Ecuadorian Habano Oscuro wrapper, Indonesian Binder and aged fillers from Nicaragua and Dominican Republic. From his Wynwood Safehouse, Jonathan Drew President and Founder of Drew Estate notes, “The Pappy Van Winkle Tradition features an ultra-complex combination of extensively aged fillers from Nicaragua and the Dominican Republic that are blanketed with a flawless Ecuadorian Habano Oscuro wrapper. Availability is limited. I am humbled to extend the Drew and Van Winkle friendship, time tested honor, and craftsmanship to Drew Diplomat Humidors across the United States.”

The Pappy Van Winkle Tradition features the following expressions:

  • Coronita (4 x 46) MSRP $146.00/10ct Box
  • Robusto Grande (5.5 x 54) MSRP $216.00/10ct Box
  • Toro (6 x 50) MSRP $236.00/10ct Box
  • Belicoso Fino (5 x 50) MSRP $246.00/10ct Box
  • Churchill (7 x 48) MSRP $236.00 / 10ct Box Exclusively available at Drew Diplomat Spirits Retailers
  • Lonsdale (6.5 x 44) (Not for Sale) / 10ct Box Exclusively at Drew Diplomat Rewards Events in October, November and December 2017
  • Corona (5.5 x 44) MSRP (Not for Sale) / 10ct Box  Exclusively available from Jonathan Drew and Julian Van Winkle

The creation of the Pappy Van Winkle Tradition has a special significance to the Drew Estate Family, as the blend has a story behind it that reads like craft folklore, taking cigar aficionados back to the days before Willy Herrera became the Master Blender of Drew Estate. From Little Havana, Willy Herrera notes “I remember it like yesterday. In 2010 when JD and I talked about me joining Drew Estate, we flew down to La Gran Fabrica to test my blending style in two days of non-stop creating. I ultimately produced 3 blends, one of which eventually became the Herrera Estelí. When I heard the news that Julian Van Winkle had selected one of my three original blends from my first trip to Nicaragua, I was humbled to say the least.”

The Pappy Van Winkle Tradition will begin shipping in October in coordination with when Old Rip Van Winkle releases their annual batch of the highly sought after Bourbon and Rye.

FacebookTwitterGoogle+LinkedInWhatsAppShare

Drew Estate enters the 4 x 32 Segment

Drew Estate debuts new initiative to its complete brand portfolio with a series of 4×32 products in 10-count tins to be displayed in Drew Estate’s booth (Booth #2608) at the IPCPR Convention and Tradeshow, held July 10 – 14, 2017 in Las Vegas, Nevada.

The 4×32 initiative debuts for the following brands:

ACID Krush Blue Connecticut (4×32) MSRP $110.00/50ct Sleeve
ACID Krush Red Cameroon (4×32) MSRP $110.00/50ct Sleeve
ACID Krush Gold Sumatra (4×32) MSRP $110.00/50ct Sleeve
ACID Krush Morado Maduro (4×32) MSRP $110.00/50ct Sleeve
ACID Krush Candela (4×32) MSRP $110.00/50ct Sleeve
Liga Privada No. 9 “Coronet” (4×32) MSRP $125.00/50ct Sleeve (DDRP Exclusive)
Liga Privada T52 “Coronet” (4×32) MSRP $125.00/50ct Sleeve (DDRP Exclusive)
Tabak Especial “Cafecita Dulce” (4×32) MSRP $110.00/50ct Sleeve
Tabak Especial “Cafecita Negra” (4×32) MSRP $110.00/50ct Sleeve
Undercrown Maduro “Coronet” (4×32) MSRP $110.00/50ct Sleeve
Undercrown Shade “Coronet” (4×32) MSRP $110.00/50ct Sleeve
Herrera Estelí “Club” (4×32) MSRP $110.00/50ct Sleeve
Herrera Estelí Norteño “Club” (4×32) MSRP $110.00/50ct Sleeve
Kentucky Fire Cured “Ponies” (4×32) MSRP $110.00/50ct Sleeve
Larutan “Dirties” (4×32) MSRP $110.00/50ct Sleeve

If you’ve lived in New York City than you are familiar with the Water Towers gracing the top of nearly every building. They are a fixture to the skyline, but often overlooked by visitors but are an optical canvas for many urban artists making their mark on the world. Escaping to the rooftops for a quick smoke under a water tower is in our DNA, away from prying eyes and with a view that is worth a trillion bucks.

Drew Estate created a 6-foot tall Water Tower retail merchandising display with a limited initial production run of 250 units. The custom display has configurable wire racks designed to hold 27 sleeves of 4×32 tins. The Drew Estate Water Tower is modular and allows retailers flexibility in displaying options and placement. It also features storage underneath for additional inventory. In addition, Drew Estate created two options of custom countertop display, which holds nine sleeves of 4×32 tins.

From his Wynwood Safehouse, Jonathan Drew Founder and President of Drew Estate, “I remember looking out at the skyline of New York when we were based in DUMBO Brooklyn and seeing the Water Towers, something so constant in my daily life, yet so overlooked. I presented to the Drew Estate Marketing Team the concept of creating today’s modern day wooden indian to disrupt the typical tin racks behind the counter and provide the brick & mortar retailer an additional point of visibility for a high velocity product.”

In addition to these merchandising solutions, Drew Estate is unveiling the Drew Estate 4×32 Rebate Program to Retailers across the United States. Qualifying retailers have the opportunity to receive an annual incentive rebate on all 4×32 direct purchases provided they meet facing and volume requirements. This rebate is in addition to the annual rebate that Drew Diplomat Retailers receive on 4 x 32 products.

Jonathan Drew Named President of Drew Estate

Via CA:

Drew Estate Inc. has announced that co-founder Jonathan Drew is returning to the helm of his eponymous company in an executive operating role.

As part of a multi-year agreement, Drew, who founded Drew Estate with partner Marvin Samel in 1996, has been named its new president, charged with overseeing the company’s entire portfolio of brands. This includes award-winning premium cigar brands such as Herrera Esteli, Norteño and Liga Privada as well as ACID, one of the company’s popular infused products.

“Jonathan Drew is a dynamic entrepreneur, respected tobacco man and a tenacious brand evangelist. He is the original disruptor, and I am excited to help build a team around JD that is raw, provocative and unafraid to challenge the mainstream and take risks,” said Drew Estate’s Glenn Wolfson, who was named the company’s CEO last July.

Since Drew Estate was acquired by Swisher International back in 2014, Drew has largely been on the road as the face of company, engaging consumers at cigar events throughout the world, including the company’s annual Kentucky Barn Smoker.

In his new role, however, Drew expects to be spending much more time at La Gran Fabrica Drew Estate, the company’s 174,000-square-foot cigar factory in Estelí, Nicaragua. The company looks to tap into Drew’s “creative energy” in an attempt to recapture the roots and core values on which Drew Estate was founded.

“There’s a lot to learn from areas outside of our main canvas at Drew Estate,” said Drew in a press release. “We will return to high-level curation, mixed media platforms and true collaboration. We have lost our way a bit, but Drew Estate will bubble back 1,000 times stronger. Believe me.”

Additionally, Drew will continue with his venture into the premium spirits industry as the CEO of John Drew Brands, which debuted three brands last year.

Drew Estate announces Herrera Estelí Inktome for Small Batch Cigars

2016-06-18 15_52_35-Drew Estate announces Herrera Estelí Inktome for Small Batch Cigars

 

Drew Estate announced today that they would be releasing a new blend within their Herrera Estelí line. The new cigar will be available exclusively for Small Batch Cigar, also known as Maxamar Ultimate Cigars.

 

The new Herrera Estelí Inktome will be presented in a 6 x 46 box-pressed Corona Gorda vitola and will be packaged in 10-count boxes. The blend showcases extensively aged tobaccos from the Estelí and Jalapa growing regions of Nicaragua, with a spicy Honduran Binder and a higher priming Ecuadorian Habano Wrapper than the core Herrera Estelí line. The result is a darker, richer wrapper. The MSRP will be $12.00, and the cigars will be released at tonight’s event at Maxamar Ultimate Cigars with Willy Herrera present.

 

When asked about the new cigar, Drew Estate Master Blender Willy Herrera stated that, “I like to read cigar forums and blogs for inspiration on new sizes. Adjusting blends based on new sizes is something that I enjoy doing at the factory because it challenges my palette to keep the blends balanced and aligned within the portfolio. I was reading on Reddit that consumers wanted to see a Herrera Estelí in a Norteño format. Something that was simple, yet different.”

 

Drew Estate Announces New Herrera Estelí TAA Exclusive Vitola

Wednesday, March 2, 2016 — Miami, FL – Today, Drew Estate announced a new line extension within their Herrera Estelí line. This new cigar, called the Herrera Estelí TAA Exclusive, will be launched at the TAA Convention and Tradeshow, held March 6 – 10, 2016 in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico, and will begin shipping to TAA members in April 2016.

The new Herrera Estelí TAA Exclusive is a 6×52 vitola, packaged in 12-ct boxes, and will retail for $144.00 per box or $12.00 per cigar. The blend features a Connecticut Broadleaf wrapper, Brazilian Mata Fina binder, and Nicaraguan fillers and is blended by Drew Estate Master Blender Willy Herrera.

When asked about the new blend, Willy Herrera stated, “This is my first blend since joining Drew Estate that utilizes Connecticut Broadleaf tobacco. Drew Estate fans know that we’re famous for our use of Connecticut Broadleaf tobaccos, especially in our Liga Privada No. 9 and Nica Rustica lines. I’ve been experimenting with blends that incorporate this incredible wrapper since coming on board and finally have a blend I’m really excited about. I think anyone who’s a fan of my blends will definitely appreciate this cigar. Spicy, meaty, and rich – get ready!”

For a chance to try a box of the new Herrera Estelí TAA Exclusive before they hit store shelves, enter the sweepstakes at http://drewestate.com/herrerataa.

2016-03-06 22_43_12-Herrera-Esteli_6x52_TAA_Box_Open_01.jpg (2400×2305)

Drew Estate Announces Distribution Partnership with Debonaire House & Indian Motorcycle Cigars

Wednesday, January 27, 2016 — Miami, FL – Today, Drew Estate announced their plans to become the Exclusive U.S. Distributor for Debonaire House and Indian Motorcycle Cigars. Both brands are produced in the Dominican Republic under the leadership of Philip S. Zanghi III, a long-time tobacco industry veteran.

Drew Estate adds Debonaire and Indian Motorcycle cigars to their already impressive list of partner brands, which includes Joya de Nicaragua, Royal Agio, and Tsuge Pipe Co. Debonaire Ultra Premium Cigars will now be available to a limited number of retail tobacconist accounts, including Drew Diplomat Retailer Program accounts, while Indian Motorcycle cigars will be available to all Drew Estate accounts. Availability will begin in early Q2 of 2016.

When asked about the strategic partnership, Jonathan Drew, Drew Estate Founder, stated that, “Phil Zanghi has been a dear personal friend of mine for two decades. When I permanently moved to Nicaragua in 1998, I wasn’t speaking no fancy languages like Spanish, so Phil helped keep me sane, as we scuttled back and forth between Nica & Honduras. He’s been a psychological & spiritual Drew Estate booster from our beginnings.  Phil is old school and has been a presence in the Central American & Caribbean tobacco worlds forever. I love the guy like a brother and feel blessed to finally be working together.  We gonna keep it real, indeed. #LetsDoitTogetherJD”

Philip Zanghi, founder of Debonaire House, said that, “Our cigars are the culmination of 20 years of personal research, and the final products are what I consider to be some of the finest premium cigars on the market today. This includes the ultra premium Debonaire brand, where I spared no expense to deliver a one-of-a-kind experience. We incorporate the finest, darkest, air cured tobacco from the most superior tobacco crops of Central America and the Dominican Republic. I’m flattered and honored to be considered by such a top rate outfit as Drew Estate. I want to tell everyone that, with Drew Estate and Debonaire together, we’ll be bringing exceptional new products into the market as one team.”

Michael Cellucci, President of Drew Estate, commented from Miami: “Drew Estate is globally known for its extremely diverse product mix and manufacturing reputation, but it’s the incredible cast of characters that truly distinguishes us and adds so much texture to our robust, mosaic culture. The strategic partnership with Debonaire reinforces this spirit, as Phil Zanghi is a real deal industry vet with sincere passion for tobacco and life. He’s a great fit. This collaboration is truly exciting for me personally, and will add to the complete Drew Estate experience. Just walk up to him at an event and introduce yourself. You will definitely understand why we love him.”

The Debonaire Ultra Premium Cigars line includes five regular production sizes including the First Degree (4 x 44), Sagita Petite Lancero (5.5 x 38), Robusto (5.25 x 50), Toro (6 x 54), and Belicosos (6 x 54). All sizes are available in two wrapper configurations, Nicaraguan Habano or Connecticut Broadleaf Maduro. The Indian Motorcycle Cigars line includes four sizes, which includes a Robusto (5 x 50), Toro (6 x 52), Gordo (6 x 58), and Churchill (7 1/2 x 50). All sizes are available in a Habano or Maduro wrapper.

indian-motorcycle

Drew Estate Announces Updated Liga Privada Papas Fritas Packaging

Miami, FL – Drew Estate announced today that they would begin offering their Liga
Privada Papas Fritas cigar in a newly designed 50-count box. These new boxes will
replace the 4-count tins / 28-count boxes that the Papas Fritas line is currently
offered in and will, as a result, reduce the single cigar retail price to $5.25 MSRP
from it’s current price of $6.40.

2015-03-28 22_50_57-c079b73b-d382-4f49-a509-2bb8d92c60c0.jpg (640×640)

When reached for comment, Drew Estate President Michael Cellucci stated that,
“Papas Fritas has been a good choice for any Liga Privada fan looking for a short
smoke. We needed something for fans of Papas Fritas who already had plenty of tins
and wanted a better value, so now we’re offering the cigar with no tin. The tins will
now become a collector’s item and the Papas Fritas will be a little more budget
friendly. It’s a win-win.”

The Papas Fritas is part of Drew Estate’s Liga Privada Unico Serie, which features
unique blends within the Liga Privada brand family. The Papas Fritas utilizes a
Connecticut Broadleaf Maduro wrapper, Brazilian Mata Fina binder, and Nicaraguan
and Honduran filler tobaccos. The small 4.5” x 44 cigar sports Drew Estate’s
signature fantail and is the perfect choice for cigar smokers who are looking for a
short escape.

Look for the new packaging to begin shipping to Drew Diplomat Retailer Program
accounts nationwide beginning in the next few weeks. Retailers who participate in
the Drew Diplomat Retailer Program [DDRP] are given priority allocations on new
cigar releases, limited editions, and commemorative cigars and products. DDRP
retailers are also granted access to Drew Estate’s boutique brands, including Liga
Privada and Herrera Estelí. In addition, DDRP retailers receive seasonal releases and
receive priority incentives for in-store events and promotions.

Presenting the Top 10 Cigars of 2014

We smoked a lot of cigars in 2014 and now it’s time to announce our top 10 cigars of the year. Just a quick bit of information on how these are selected is below. Since we have always prided ourselves on the notion of the “everyday man (or woman)” style of review, our Top 10 is not going to be limited to just cigars that were released in 2014, but that we tried for the first time in 2014. We smoked just over 100 different cigars for review in 2014 and we are pleased to present to you our Top 10 of the year as well as 5 Honorable Mentions, click here or below to see who made the list, watch the reviews see our ratings.

toplisttemp2014